Announcing NExEA – Charity Compilation

NExEA is charity compilation featuring exclusive tracks from the cream of the North East’s music community; proceeds of which will be given to the Disaster Emergency Committee’s East Africa Crisis Appeal. Available now from Big Cartel and Bandcamp, NExEA features new and exclusive tracks from some of the North East’s biggest acts, alongside an array of up and coming talent.

The full tracklist includes songs from Field Music, Maxïmo Park’s Paul Smith, the hotly- tipped Let’s Buy Happiness and recent Bella Union signing Lanterns on The Lake. The Futureheads have also donated an exclusive acapella version of the track ‘Robot’, taken from their debut self titled album. NExEA also features a brand new song from troubadour Willy Mason, featuring Ninja Tune’s Spokes. The track was recorded in Newcastle, where Spokes are based.

The North East’s vibrant scene of diverse, new talent is represented by acts including Age of Consent (featuring former members of SHITDISCO), The Lake Poets, Waskerley Way and Young Liar.

Some of the world’s most respected producers have worked on tracks present on NExEA, including Adrian Bushby (Foo Fighters, Smashing Pumpkins, Muse) on alternative pop act Shields track ‘Spires’ and Steve Albini (Nirvana, Mogwai, Pixies) on We Are Knuckle Draggers offering ‘Get The Horizon Yourself’.

Maxïmo Park frontman Paul Smith, who has donated the track ‘A Perfect Foil’, said: “I saw the shocking footage from Eastern Africa on the news like many others will have done and I felt pretty helpless. I’m glad I was approached to contribute something because it’s an amazing cause. I hope my slightly dodgy demo might have enough charm to sit alongside the strong line-up of other North Eastern musicians and encourage people to buy a copy."

One of the worst droughts in 60 years has seen more than 10 million people in Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia and the Republic of South Sudan left in need of food, water and essential emergency healthcare. Proceeds from the sales of the NExEA compilation will go directly to the DEC’s East Africa Crisis Appeal.

Tom Bagnall, one of the curators of NExEA, said "We wanted to use the talents of one of the country’s most vibrant scenes to help this extremely worthy cause."

The NExEA compilation is available to buy on CD with artwork from illustrator and Newcastle University graduate Kerry Hyndman for £8. The digital version is also available for a minimum price of £6, though further donations can be made to the DEC’s East Africa Crisis Appeal with this purchase. At least £6 from the physical CD and at least £5 from the digital download will go to the DEC’s appeal fund.

Full tracklisting:

1. The Futureheads – Robot (acapella)
2. Field Music – Repetition
3. Shields – Spires (Adrian Bushby Mix)
4. Age of Consent – Columns
5. Let’s Buy Happiness – Woodrings
6. Willy Mason & Spokes – Bossman
7. O’Messy Life – Cancellation Of The Constellation Programme 11.10.10
8. Mammal Club – Put Your Fears In Order (Alternative Version)
9. Here Comes Good Sailing – Johnathon The Obscure
10. The Lake Poets – Edinburgh
11. Lanterns on The Lake – You’re Almost There
12. Young Liar – Rosé Banter Bruise
13. Waskerley Way – Hark, ’tis th’ Beaste Coaste
14. Warm Digits – Weapons Destruction
15. We Are Knuckle Dragger – Get The Horizon Yourself
16. Vinyl Jacket – Got The Badge
17. Paul Smith – A Perfect Foil
18. Symphonic Pictures – We All Come From Fire / /

Published by

Jack Stovin

Hello. My name is Jack. I'm the founder of Digital Warble and a Copywriter based in Amsterdam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *