Darkness Falls Album News

Darkness Falls are the enchanting new Danish rock duo fresh from the ever-expanding Copenhagen music scene. The fruitful partnership of vocalist and keyboard player Josephine Philip, and Ina Lindgreen – guitar and bass – already brought us their first stunning EPÇDarkness Fallsí released in March 2011.

Discovered by visionary producer Anders Trentem¯ller, Darkness Falls now announce their debut full length album – ÇAlive In Usë – which is also produced by Trentem¯ller. A perfect modern fusion of melancholic melodies, 60s guitar twangs, haunting atmospheres and spaced-out pop, the long player whisks us away to a not-so-distant land of bitter-sweet harmony and musical contemplation.

The reverb-drenched debut-EP ÇDarkness Fallsë set the tone for the bandës laid-back filmic qualities and exceptional song-writing. Thus the album continues, with rich guitar sounds, subdued percussion and lush harmonies.

Ç100 Meter Mind Dashë eases us further into the calming drone-scape of their magical song world, while the mysterious sci-fi tones of ÇThe Voidë confirm that the album is unstoppably infectious. Ever-changing and developing, epic future-rock meets achingly majestic shoegaze in ÇNight Will Be Dawnë. Josephineës powerful vocals climb a velvet-carpeted stairway into psychedelic explorations as this 6 minute triumph unravels.

In the slow-motion unwind of ÇJosephineë dark and filtered pianos chime through misty scandinavian coastlines before a transformation flips the song into a groovy bass-heavy neo-disco montage. This is one of the tracks where the project really shines through – not afraid to mix genres and themes in a diverse and bold new sound!

In wonderful contrast, title track ÇAlive In Usë beams out positive energy in a rousing round-up of the bandës instrumental talents. Shining synths and yet more cavernous reverb hold this sweet number in the finest of lights. An ode to musical generations past, present and future.

A love of classic 60s guitar sounds can be found throughout, with all the twang and spring of those classic rockënëroll days, yet tracks like ÇParadise Trilogy IIë transform the tone into a new instrument entirely, as it becomes fused with heavenly voices and dreamy washes of texture.

Once again contrasting, yet quickly fitting in as part of an expertly considered work, ÇTime Lineë merges electronic elements and rougher edges with the darker corners of Darkness Falls. In the same zone, the stomping ÇBefore The Light Takes Usë ups the urgency and brings a more raucous attitude to the albumës often more gentle exterior. ÇHey!ë is also a lively affair, centered on a foreboding lyric caught up amongst a whirlwind of guitar and synths in a truly wonderful moment of modern song-writing.

And so as the album draws to a close the haunting ÇParadise Trilogy IIIë lifts us away completely into the windy Danish landscape where the magic once began.


01. Intro

02. Noise On The Line

03. 100 Meter Mind Dash

04. The Void

05. Night Will Be Dawn

06. Josephine

07. Alive In Us

08. Paradise Trilogy II

09. Timeline

10. Before The Light Takes Us

11. Hey!

12. Paradise Trilogy III

Release dates:

26. September 2011
single "The Void"
hfn08: 12"+7" Limited Edition
hfn08s: 7"

24. October 2011
album "Alive In Us"
hfn09cd: CD
hfn09cd: LP

"Hey!": Darkness Falls: Hey! (official music video) – YouTube
"The Void": coming soon