John Foxx And The Maths – New Video by Jonathan Barnbrook!

John Foxx And The Maths are pleased to announce their first ever UK tour in October, featuring material from their new album Interplay as well as classic songs from early Ultravox and Foxx’s solo career. They’re also releasing a new version of the track ‘Evergreen’ as a single on 10 October.

Interplay is a collaboration between Foxx and electronic composer and synthesizer collector, Benge (Ben Edwards). The latter is best known for his 2008 album Twenty Systems, which was described by Brian Eno as a ‘brilliant contribution to the archeology of electronic music.’

Moody and atmospheric, but also full of songs that are actually more ‘’pop’’ than avant garde, Interplay pulls various strands of electronic music together – from early ‘80s electro to 70s Krautrock, even flashes of Cabaret Voltaire and Foxx’s first band, Ultravox. One track, ‘Watching A Building On Fire’ features Mira Aroyo from Ladytron, who also came up with the original synth riff.

Foxx and Benge will be joined on stage by two performers who are also solo musicians in their own right – Serafina Steer (Keyboards, Bass) and Hannah Peel (Keyboards, Violin).

John Foxx formed Ultravox in the 70s and has worked with a wide range of artists including Brian Eno, Krautrock producer Conny Plank, Paul Daley from Leftfield, Cocteau Twins guitarist, Robin Guthrie and I, Robot director Alex Proyas.

13 Leamington Spa Assembly Rooms
20 Bristol Theckla
21 Manchester Academy 4
22 Liverpool Stanley Theatre
23 Glasgow Arches
24 York Duchess
25 London XOYO
27 London XOYO
28 Holmfirth Picturedrome

Published by

Jack Stovin

Hello. My name is Jack. I'm the founder of Digital Warble and a Copywriter based in Amsterdam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *