Music Hitting Your Shelves This Week: June 4th 2012

Music Hitting Your Shelves This Week: July 16th 2012

Looking at this week’s music list makes you think about how many bands and artists there are churning out new releases. There is an absolute ton of new music to check out this week. It can only be a good thing right? You’re spoilt for choice.

One of the highly anticipated albums of the year is Periphery‘s new album Periphery II, which comes out this week. We’ve been looking forward to this one for a while and have been waiting to hear it.

Bloc Party are back with a new single ‘Octopus‘ which is getting a hell of alot of people excited. It’s been a while since we saw these guys smashing out their material, and we can’t wait to hear the finished product with their new album Four at the end of August.

Still plodding along with their cheeky synth metal genre are Enter Shikari with their new single ‘Warm Smiles Do Not Make You Welcome Here‘ as well as Bat For Lashes making an appearance with their single ‘Laura‘.

John Frusciante has been quite for a while, but he is back this week with his new album Letur-Lefr. We recommend going back in time and listening to the back catalog of Frusciante‘s solo work, as it’s super amazing.

Nas also makes an effort this week with his album Life Is Good and if you really wanna get your gangster shoes on, check out the new album Good Morning To The Night by Elton John Vs Pnau.

Singles released this week:

Alpines – ‘Empire’
Bat For Lashes – ‘Laura’
Bloc Party – ‘Octopus’
The Cribs – ‘Glitters Like Gold’
Cypress Hill X Rusko – ‘Cypress Hill X Rusko EP’
Daniel Powter – ‘Cupid’
Deaf Club – ‘Moving Still/Lights’
Delilah – ‘Inside My Love’
Enter Shikari – ‘Warm Smiles Do Not Make You Welcome Here’
Ren Harvieu – ‘Tonight’
Richard Hawley – ‘Down In The Woods’
King Charles feat. Mumford & Sons – ‘The Brightest Light’
Little Boots – ‘Headphones’
Misha B – ‘Home Run’
Post War Years – ‘Glass House’
Slugabed – Mountains Come Out Of The Sky
The Edenites – Welcome to London
Milwalkie – Wash Yourself
We’re No Heroes – Ghost Coast
Born Blonde – ‘I Just Wanna Be’
Electric Guest – ‘Awake’
Jack Light – Answer your Questions

EPs released this week:

Joshua Ketchmark – the Dreamers Disease
Paul Masters – Portrait Of Music
The Range – disk
We Like Humans – We Like Humans
Isaac Delusion – Early Morning
South Banks – Fit For A King
Blisted Pearl – Wait for You
Elude – Bingo
Joia – ‘Match Light’
Twin Bears – Angel

Albums released this week:

Baroness – ‘Yellow And Green’
Bury Tomorrow – ‘The Union Of Crowns’
Daniel Powter – ‘Turn On The Lights’
Diiv – ‘Oshin’
Elton John Vs Pnau – ‘Good Morning To The Night’
Fang Island – ‘Major’
Feed The Rhino – ‘The Burning Sons’
Hellyeah – ‘Band Of Brothers’
Jimmy Cliff – ‘Rebirth’
John Frusciante – ‘Letur-Lefr’
Mtmtmk – ‘The Very Best Of Mtmtmk’
Nas – ‘Life Is Good’
Natalie Duncan – ‘Devil In Me’
Old Crow Medicine Show – ‘Carry Me Back’
Periphery – ‘Periphery II’
Pierce The Veil – ‘Collide With The Sky’
Tremonti – ‘All I Was’
Through the Sparks – Alamalibu
The Intelligence- Everybody’s Got it Easy But Me
Hot Panda – Go Outside
Cosmo Jarvis – Think Bigger
The Agnostic-Phibes Rhythm & Blood Conspiracy – Campfire Tales
Poppy Perezz – We Are Yours
Sam Lee – Ground Of It’s Own
Kotki Dwa – Staycations
Meursault – Something for the Weekend
Grasscut – Unearth
The Very Best – ‘MTMTMK’
Shout Out Out Out Out – Spanish Moss and Total Loss
Leander Rising – Leander Rising
Various Artists – Lateral Excursions 01
Hatcham Social – About Girls
Jimmy Cliff – Rebirth
Simbiose – Economical Terrorism
Mark Tremonti – All I Was
Boz Boorer – Some Of The Parts
Various Artists and Hans Zimmer – THE DARK KNIGHT RISES SOUNDTRACK
Various Artists – ASSAULT ON PRECINCT 13
Various Artists – DARK STAR
Feel Good! – Weekend Life
Sonic Intervention – The Advent
Affin Fractals [mixed by Joachim Spieth] – Affin
Years In The Making – Prevail
Poppy Perezz – We Are Yours
Peter And Kerry – ‘La Trimouille’
Various Artists – The Move