THE TRAVELLING BAND new LP out May30th / UK tour announced

release eagerly awaited second album
‘Screaming Is Something’
– out 30 May 2011 on Cooking Vinyl –
and announce May / June UK Tour
The Travelling Band take me back to my musical roots. Marvellous music to savour and enjoy” Michael Eavis, Glastonbury Festival
An inventive brand of guitar-laden country folk pop with a cosmic aesthetic and sprinkles of trademark Manchester’s musical lineage.” Clash magazine
Sweet harmonies, strong song writing and an unforced take on country rock make for a beguiling debut” Independent on Sunday
The Travelling Band’s shimmering blend of cosmic-country-pop, understated psychedelia, vocal harmonies and nu-folk has made them one of the most talked about artists to emerge from the Manchester music scene – “If you consider the term Mancunian Americana to be an oxymoron try listening to the Travelling Band. Brilliant” Marc Riley BBC 6 Music.
A recording project in New York City in 2006 led a collective of like minded souls to record what was to become ‘Under The Pavement’, their debut studio album. Released two years later, the record was very well received by the UK media, gaining BBC Radio 6 ‘Album of The Day’, BBC Radio 2’s ‘Single of The Week’ and a featured song in the Ian Dury biopic ‘Sex Drugs & Rock n Roll’.
Although, as The Sun says, “This debut blurs the folk/rock boundaries, delicately intertwining sensitive lyrics with accomplished folk vocals and jangly instrumental accompaniments to form a tapestry of glittering whimsy”, their 10 track second album demonstrates a giant leap forward for the band. Set for a 30 May UK release, ‘Screaming Is Something’, which isn’t quite soul music, isn’t quite folk, isn’t quite pop, country or rock, is being supported by a May / June UK Tour (dates below and ticketing details on the band’s website).
APRIL 2011
4 Manchester, The Deaf Institute (MAK presents: ‘ten’ album launch w/ Badly Drawn Boy / The Travelling Band {acoustic } / Jim Noir / Silverclub / Jo Rose / Liam Frost / Gideon Conn / Josphine Oniyama / Liz Green)
7 London, Union Chapel (MAK presents: ‘ten’ album launch w/ Badly Drawn Boy + Gideon Conn + Jim Noir + Jo Rose + Josephine + Liam Frost + Liz Green + Silverclub + The Travelling Band)
Ten years after the launch of its first critically acclaimed Manchester compilation album, ‘Cohesion’, Manchester Aid to Kosovo (MAK
MAY 2011
17 London, The Nest
19 Manchester, Deaf Institute
20 Leicester, The Donkey
21 Cheshire, Fom Festival
23 Sheffield, Soyo
24 Preston, New Continental
25 Clitheroe, The Grand
26 York, The Basement
27 Chester, Telford’s W’house
30 Glasgow, King tuts
31 Edinburgh, Electric Circus
JUNE 2011
1 Newcastle, The Cluney
3 Wychwood, Festival
4 Glastonbury, Sunrise Festival
5 Co Clare, Ireland, Surf Pro Festival
7 Cardiff, 10 Feet Tall
8 Birmingham, The Yardbird
9 Bristol, The Thunderbolt
10 Leeds, Brundell
JULY 2011
16 2000 Trees Festival
12 Cropredy Festival  
21 Green Man Festival 
27 Solfest 
With a democratic approach to songwriting, similar to that of Teenage Fanclub before them, The Travelling Band, aided by their 2010 ‘Sundial’ anthem (featured on the album), have become a firm favourite on the thriving British festival scene. After winning the ‘Glastonbury Emerging Talent Competition’ in 2008 they have performed at Glastonbury, Wychwood, Larmer Tree, Kendal Calling, Wizard, End of Road, Llama, Sunrise, Moseley Folk, Summer Sundae, Mad Ferret, Hop Farm, Hungry Pigeon and Beathearder. Whilst international festival appearances  include CMJ (USA) , MIDEM (France), NXNE (Canada), Tbilisi Open Air (Georgia, N.Europe) and L’es Nuit D’o (Montpellier, France).
The Travelling Band on the recording of ‘Screaming Is Something’
The album was recorded in a few different locations but most of the recording was done in a converted church called Kinclochspelve on the Isle of Mull in Scotland. It was so desolate and tranquil on Mull and that gave that session a real focus. Producing the album ourselves was made more interesting and challenging by being so far away from anywhere and we encountered plenty of technical problems that we simply couldn’t do anything about as we were cut off from the rest of the world. There had been some scepticism from within the band at first whether we could pull off such an ambitious location recording but once we scoped it out we realised it was going to be a lot fun.
The Travelling Band’s carefully honed mixture of folk, country, and understated psychedelia came as a result of their involvement in earlier acts … The players are:
Adam Gorman: Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Pump Organ, Accordion, Banjo,  Harmonica, Percussion, Keys      
Jo Dudderidge: Vocals, Keys, Acoustic Guitar, Synth, Percussion
Steve Mullen: Vocals, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Banjo, Percussion
Chris Spencer: Bass
Nick Vaal: Drums, Percussion
The tracklisting for ‘Screaming Is Something” is:
1 Fairweather Friends, 2 Screaming Is Something 3 Sundial, 4 Battlescars, 4 Magnetic Anywhere, 5 Under The Pavement, 7 Hindsight, 8 Horizon Me And You, 9 One Dime Blues, 10 On The Rails