Zenith Myth Push Back Release of Self-Titled Debut

Los Angeles based artist Zenith Myth is now set to release his self-titled debut on October 25th via Vibra Cobra records. Zenith Myth is a personal collection of expansive, emotionally-charged melodic rock music that experiments in structure. The record was recorded and produced by Blinker the Star’s Jordon Zadorozny at his French Kiss Studios in Pembroke, Canada. Jordon is known for having co-written songs with Lindsey Buckingham, John Parish, Courtney Love, Ken Andrewsamongst many others and recently produced for Chris Cornell. For full track-listing, see below.

You can listen to one of the tracks from the album, "Ego Fader," now at the link below:
Ego Fader by ZENITH MYTH on SoundCloud – Create, record and share your sounds for free

Zenith Myth is the creative brainchild of Mike Edwards from Los Angeles, California. Creatively blocked and unfulfilled, Edwards left behind what many would call the "perfect life" (a house in the hills of California, a successful career, a seemingly great marriage), and moved to a small town in upstate NY (Hudson) for some perspective. It was there that Zenith Myth was realized.

Edwards also managed to enroll some his close friends to play on the record, including Paul D’Amour (Tool), Melissa Auf der Maur (Hole, Smashing Pumpkins), Mike Bloom (Julian Casablancas), Sam Goldberg (Broken Social Scene), and Meshell Ndegeocello.

Having recently moved back to Los Angeles, Edwards now reflects,"Walking away from ‘that life’ was the hardest thing I ever did in my life, but I would do it all over again if I were in the same position today. It was exactly what I needed."

Growing up, Edwards listened to a lot of classic rock, including the legendary Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd and Supertramp. Add in a healthy dose of Dinosaur Jr, My Bloody Valentine, Soundgarden and Nine Inch Nails, and you have many of the elements that were incorporated into Zenith Myth’s sound.

Zenith Myth is a break-up record of sorts, what guest vocalist Meshell Ndegeocello calls "the best kind of record." The songs are powerful and vary in tempo and tone, but almost seamlessly flow from heavy modern rock into classic rock into more melancholic, ambient, dub-like moments. The music is characterized by high gain, pulverizing lows, inventive and extensive use of feedback, distortion, digital reverb, and meticulous attention to textural sonic detail. The use of extreme volume and pitch pending, along with the loud-quiet dynamics of the songs form almost their own hybrid. From searing metal through gauzy textured ambient atmospheric ballads, to the heaviest distorted down-tuned subsonic bass sounds, the songs serve as a soothing balm for whatever may ail you in these modern times.

Track Listing:

1. Zenith Myth
2. Ego Fader
3. Icicle Tryst
4. Surgical Gain
5. Degeneration Blues
6. Hot Sleeper
7. Manitou
8. Drifter
9. When All We Had Were Promises

Published by

Jack Stovin

Hello. My name is Jack. I'm the founder of Digital Warble and a Copywriter based in Amsterdam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *